• » about CAPE VERDE

      Cape Verde Islands are an archipelago of 10 large and 8 small islands in the central Atlantic Ocean, west of Senegal, conventionally divided into the leeward (port. Sotavento) and windward (port. Barlavento) group.

      In the Windward group (Barlavento) includes the islands of Santo Antao, Sao Vicente, Sao Nicolau, Santa Luzia, Sal, Boavista. In the Leeward group (Sotavento) includes the islands of Santiago, Brava, Fogo, Maio. Small islands: Branco, once, Grundy, Luiz Carneiro, Santa Maria, Sapadu, Shem, Du Rey (port. Ilhéu do Rei).

      The terrain elevation and dry enough. Up to 16% of Cape Verde occupy dry gravelly uplands – the so-called “lunar landscape”. The relief is mountainous with lots of extinct and active volcanoes. Rocky shores are difficult. Very few natural harbors, the largest of which – Mindelo (a flooded crater of an extinct volcano). The highest point in the country – Fogo volcano (2829 m). Coastline – 965 km. Total area – 4033 sq km.

      The mild climate, practically does not change the mean annual temperature (about 25 ° C), low rainfall. Each island is unique in nature and the landscape.

      The climate is dry tropical. The water temperature in the ocean: February-March + 21 … + 22 ° C, August-October + 25 … + 26 ° C. The island has the wind blows, it helps to carry a good summer heat. Precipitation falls throughout the year a little bit – 100-300 mm. Sometimes the mountains are heavy rains, capable for one day “pour” of up to 500 mm of moisture, which destroys the fertile topsoil. The rainy season occurs in August-October, when the blow of the southwest monsoon. At other times, dominate the north-east trade winds. East wind harmattan, which blows from the Sahara in the period from October to June, has a withering influence and brings a fine dust.

Ваши тонны - на наши рифы

  • » о CAPE VERDE

      Острова Зелёного Мыса представляют собой архипелаг из 10 крупных и 8 мелких островов в центральной части Атлантического океана, к западу от Сенегала, условно подразделяемых на Подветренную и Наветренную группы.

       

      В Наветренную группу (Барлавенту) входят острова: Санту-Антан, Сан-Висенте, Сан-Николау, Санта-Лузия, Сал, Боавишта. В Подветренную группу (Сотавенту) входят острова: Сантьягу, Брава, Фогу, Маю. Малые острова: Бранку, Разу, Гранди, Луиш-Карнейру, Санта-Мария, Сападу, Сима, Ду-Рей.

       

      Территория островов возвышенная и достаточно сухая. До 16 % Кабо-Верде занимают сухие щебнистые нагорья — так называемый «лунный пейзаж». Рельеф гористый с большим количеством потухших и действующих вулканов. Скалистые берега труднодоступны. Очень мало естественных гаваней, самая большая из которых — Минделу (представляет собой затопленный кратер потухшего вулкана). Высшая точка страны — вулкан Фогу (2829 м). Береговая линия — 965 км. Общая площадь — 4033 км².

       

      Мягкий климат, практически не меняющаяся среднегодовая температура (около 25 °C), малое количество осадков. Каждый из островов уникален по природе и ландшафту.

       

      Климат сухой тропический. Температура воды в океане: февраль—март +21…+22 °C, август-октябрь +25…+26 °C. На островах постоянно дует ветер, что помогает хорошо переносить летнюю жару. Осадков в течение года выпадает немного — 100—300 мм. Иногда в горах проходят сильные ливни, способные за одни сутки «вылить» до 500 мм влаги, что разрушает плодородный верхний слой почвы. Сезон дождей приходится на август—октябрь, когда дуют юго-западные муссоны. В остальное время господствуют северо-восточные пассаты. Восточный ветер харматан, дующий с Сахары в период с октября по июнь, оказывает иссушающее влияние и приносит мелкую пыль.